Pakistan Squad For Zimbabwe Series 2020

Pakistan Chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq announced their  22 player’s on October 19 for the ODI and T20I series against Zimbabwe that is played in pakistan.  The Zimbabwe cricket team are play three ODI and three Twenty20 International (T20I) matches, with all the matches being played behind closed doors.These matches are Started from Oct 30 – 10 Nov 2020.The first ODI match was playing in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on 30 oct.The T20 matches are started from 7 nov on Gaddafi Stadium lahore. Chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq left out their former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed from this series,he left also Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir.Misbah also confirmed that shadab khan is vice captain of pakistan team.The squad has been select for  full tour, the  management and the Pakistan selectors will pick a squad for the ODI and T20 matches

Zimbabwe tour of Pakistan will start when their 32 player’s squad arrives in Islamabad on 20 oct. They will isolate period from October 21 to 27, before they can start training at the Pindi Cricket Stadium from October 28. Rawalpindi will be hosting the ODI series started from 30 oct.

According to the PCB statement fast bowlers Hasan Ali and Naseem Shah were not considered for selection as they are recovering from injuries, but they have advised to play in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy to prove their fitness.

Misbah explaining the reasons why senior players like Shoaib Malik and Sarfaraz Ahmed were not selected, Misbah said that ,these are strategic decisions as Shoaib absence will provide players like Abdullah Shafiq, and Khushdil Shah better chances for upcoming matches.

Misbah pointed out that the PCB followed the same philosophy while leaving out Mohammad Amir and Usman Shinwari so that bowlers like Mohammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf can get an extended run and provide a chance.He said that Mohammad Rizwan is the first-choice wicketkeeper in both the white-ball formats. He also advised Sarfaraz to play in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy to rediscover form for the tour for the longer and more demanding tour for upcoming series.

The player’s will be assemble in Lahore on 21 Oct for COVID-19 testing and after observing a five-day isolation period.The probables for three T20 will be shortlisted after the ODI and players unlikely to feature in them will be advised to play in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy third-round matches, which will commence from 6 November.

Misbah said the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) would give more chance to young players in T20 format so that they can show their skills and what they are capable of at the highest level and cement their places for future assignments.

Chief selector said:Mohammad Hafeez and Wahab Riaz are the two senior players who have been retained for their well experience in the batting and bowling that will benefit the youngsters.

Here is the following squad for Zimbabwe series 2020

Babar Azam (C)

Shadab Khan (VC)

Fakhar Zaman

Abid Ali


Haris Sohail

Mohammad Hafeez

Haider Ali

Mohammad Rizwan

Abdullah Shafiq

Faheem Ashraf

Khushdil Shah

Iftikhar Ahmed

Imad Wasim

Shaheen Shah Afridi

Haris Rauf

Khushdil Shah

Mohammad Hasnain

Mohammad Rizwan

Musa Khan

Rohail Nazir

Usman Qadir

Wahab Riaz

Zafar Gohar

Spread the love


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *